Home     |      Version Française du site musiclassroom.com FR English Version of the website musiclassroom.com EN Versión Española del sitio musiclassroom.com ES 普通话 CN
Boutique musique en ligne
Webtv musique en ligne
Partitions et tablatures gratuites en téléchargement
Cours de musique en ligne

Classical piano

The keyboard and the scale.


Introducing the classical piano by the knowledge of the keyboard and the practice of the scale and arpeggio.
Seen in this video, a keyboard consists of black and white keys. The white keys appear regularly while the black keys alternate groups of three notes and groups of two notes.
The seven notes of the scale are found on the keyboard: C, D, E, F, G, A, B.
The Do note is located just before the group of two black keys. The white keys are the natural notes of the Do diatonic scale.
The black keys represent the altered notes of the C diatonic scale, ie: the sharps and flats, for example.
Thus, we have the following "chromatic scale" (Proceeding by semitones): C, C# or Db, E, F, F# or Gb, G, G#, or Ab, A, A# or Bb, B and C.
The space between these twelve semitones form an interval of octave between C and C octave. A piano keyboard is made up of seven octaves like this + three notes, in other words: 88 keys.

In this first piano lesson we will learn how to go up and down an octave on the diatonic major scale, separate hands first, then hands together. We start with the right hand and will put the thumb on the C note.
We now locate the fifth finger of the left hand on the C note.
Finally, we will play the scale with both hands: the thumb of the right hand on the C note and the fifth finger of the left hand on the C note too, an octave lower.